Roboflow

Grok 4 Overview

Grok 4, released by xAI on July 9, 2025, is the fourth-generation model in the Grok family and the most advanced to date. It is multimodal, supporting text, vision, tool use, and real-time web search, with a reported 256,000-token context window for long-form reasoning and document analysis. Its training data extends through November 2024, making it the most up-to-date Grok model at launch.

The lineup includes Grok 4 Generalist for broad tasks, Grok 4 Heavy for higher-capacity reasoning, and Grok 4 Code optimized for programming and debugging. A notable feature is its always-on “Think” mode, designed for deeper multi-step reasoning. While xAI has not disclosed parameter counts, Grok 4 is positioned to compete with frontier models like GPT-5 and Claude 4, balancing real-time knowledge via web integration with structured tool use. It is best suited for coding, complex reasoning, and multimodal AI assistants.

Grok 4 Interactive Demo

Results appear here. Add an image or pick an example to run Grok 4.

Grok 4 Details & Performance

Details

Resources

—

Vision Tasks

CaptioningChart Question AnsweringClassificationDocument Question AnsweringImage TaggingMulti-Label ClassificationOCRObject DetectionVision LanguageVisual Question Answering

Features

Foundation VisionLLMs with Vision CapabilitiesMultimodal Vision

Usage

Past 30 Days

Performance

Avg. Latency

Grok 4 Vision Evals

Grok 4 has not yet been evaluated on the current benchmark. The results below are from the legacy version of Vision Evals, our previous benchmark. See the current Vision Evals

Visual Understanding

77 models · 67 tasks
HighestLowest
This model#63 of 7752.24% pass rate · better than 17%
Score52.24%pass rate across 67 tasks
Speed85.24savg response per task
Cost—pricing unavailable
Tokens—tokens unavailable
Score key:≥75%40–74%<40%
CategoryPassedScore
Defect Detection12 / 15
80%
Object Understanding8 / 14
57.1%
Spatial Understanding10 / 19
52.6%
Document Understanding4 / 9
44.4%
Object Counting1 / 10
10%

Scores based on a single evaluation run · Methodology

View all legacy Vision Evals results →

Price vs. performance

Estimated cost per task vs. Visual Understanding score, for this model and others ranked near it. Upper-left is the sweet spot (high quality, low cost). Based on Vision Evals (legacy) results.

6 of 7 models plotted · 1 not yet evaluated

ModelScoreMedian tokensEst. cost / taskCompare
AnthropicClaude Haiku 4.558.2%2.3K$0.0030Compare
OpenAIGPT-5 Nano58.2%2.7K$0.0003Compare
QwenQwen3.5 397B A17B58.2%1.5K$0.0008Compare
GoogleGemini 2.5 Flash55.2%476$0.0005Compare
GoogleGemini 2.5 Flash-Lite53.7%301<$0.0001Compare
GrokGrok 4(this model)52.2%———
MoonshotAIKimi K2.535.8%2.7K$0.0024Compare

Alternatives to Grok 4

Other models worth comparing for similar use cases.

Google
Gemini 2.5 Pro
Gemini 2.5 Pro, released on June 17, 2025, is Google DeepMind’s most capable model in the Gemini 2.5 family, optimized for deep reasoning, coding, and complex multimodal tasks. It accepts text, images, audio, video, and PDFs as input and outputs text. The model supports 1 million input tokens with an output capacity of up to 65K tokens, enabling large-scale comprehension of datasets, codebases, and technical documents. Its training knowledge extends to January 2025.Pro outperforms earlier Gemini 2.0 models across benchmarks, including agentic coding tasks where it achieved ~63.8% on SWE-Bench Verified. It supports structured outputs, function calling, code execution, search grounding, and URL context, making it well-suited for enterprise, STEM, and developer workflows. However, it does not currently support image or audio generation in its stable release, and its higher computational cost and latency make it less efficient than Flash or Flash-Lite. It is available via the Gemini API, Google AI Studio, and Vertex AI.
OpenAI
GPT-5
GPT-5, released by OpenAI in August 2025, is a multimodal large language model that advances beyond the GPT-4 family with a new “unified system” architecture. This design allows the model to dynamically choose between fast responses and extended reasoning depending on task complexity. It supports text, code, and images, alongside stronger tool use and agentic workflows, making it more adaptable for real-world problem solving. While its exact context window size is not disclosed, GPT-5 is optimized for long-horizon reasoning and multi-step tool chaining, indicating substantially expanded capacity over its predecessors.The release introduced specialized variants: GPT-5 Pro, offering extended reasoning for complex workflows, and GPT-5 Codex, optimized for advanced coding tasks such as large-scale refactoring and code review. GPT-5 shows benchmark gains in coding, biomedical reasoning, multimodal analysis, and scientific tasks. Developers also gain new controls, such as verbosity and personalization parameters, for greater steerability. With these improvements, GPT-5 positions itself as OpenAI’s most capable and versatile model, suited for enterprise automation, research, healthcare, and sophisticated coding environments.
Anthropic
Claude Opus 4.5
Claude Opus 4.5 is Anthropic’s most advanced large language model in the Claude Opus family, designed for high-end reasoning, coding, and autonomous agent workflows. Released in late 2025, it targets developers and enterprises that need reliable long-context understanding and strong multi-step problem solving in production environments.The model supports text and code natively, with reported multimodal capabilities for documents and images, and offers an exceptionally large context window of up to roughly 200,000 tokens. Claude Opus 4.5 emphasizes long-horizon task execution, complex code generation and refactoring, and sustained reasoning over large inputs. In the current landscape, it positions itself as a premium, accuracy- and reasoning-focused alternative to faster or cheaper peers, trading cost for depth and contextual fidelity. Typical applications include advanced coding assistants, research analysis, agentic automation, and enterprise knowledge workflows deployed via Anthropic’s API or major cloud platforms.
Qwen
Qwen3 VL 235B A22B Instruct
Qwen3 VL 235B A22B Instruct is a flagship multimodal vision-language model developed by Qwen (Alibaba Cloud), designed for instruction-following tasks that combine advanced text generation with visual understanding. It serves as a high-end open-weight model for developers and researchers building multimodal AI systems that require strong reasoning, perception, and long-context capabilities.The model supports interleaved text and image inputs, very long context windows (up to roughly 256K tokens), and efficient inference through a mixture-of-experts architecture with about 22B active parameters out of 235B total. In today’s landscape, it competes with top-tier proprietary vision-language models while offering the advantages of open weights and flexible deployment. Typical applications include multimodal assistants, document and image analysis, visual reasoning, and large-context instruction-based workflows.

Other SpaceXAI Grok models

Other versions in the same family as Grok 4.

Grok 4 License

Proprietary

Grok 4 is proprietary: the weights are not distributed, and the Grok 4 license is the vendor's commercial terms of service that you accept when you call the API.

Commercial use
Permitted under the vendor terms, typically metered per token or per request, with the vendor usage policy applying to your inputs and outputs.
Modification
Not available. Grok 4 weights are closed, so you can configure prompts and use vendor-hosted fine-tuning where it is offered, but you cannot modify the model itself.
Redistribution
Not permitted. You cannot self-host or resell the model; you build on the hosted API instead.

Vendor terms govern data retention, whether your inputs can be trained on, rate limits, and regional availability, and they can change with notice. Review them if you handle regulated or customer data.

Do I need a commercial license for Grok 4?

Proprietary terms are set by the vendor rather than negotiated per project, and no open-source obligation attaches to your code. If you would rather deploy a model whose commercial license is included in your plan — on Roboflow Managed Cloud or a Self-Hosted Inference Server — Roboflow's licensing page lists the supported alternatives to Grok 4.

Do not hesitate to reach out with questions for your commercial project — our team will help you start solving business problems on the first call. See Roboflow commercial licensing for the models included in each plan.

Talk to sales

This model is proprietary. The author retains all rights, and use of the model is governed by their specific terms of service or license agreement.

Commercial use depends on the terms set by the model author. Most proprietary commercial models require a paid subscription, API key, or per-call billing. Check the provider’s pricing and terms-of-service for details.

License information is provided as a guide and is not legal advice.

Frequently Asked Questions About Grok 4 Vision

Yes. Grok 4 accepts image input, and on Roboflow's previous vision benchmark it passed 52.2% of visual understanding tasks (#63 of 77). You can test it on your own image in the demo above.

Grok 4 has not yet been evaluated on Roboflow's current Vision Evals. The results on this page are from the previous benchmark.

Yes. The demo on this page runs Grok 4 in the free Roboflow Playground: upload an image and see results in seconds. A free account unlocks unlimited runs.